Lessons of Love From my Dying Dog

Posted on Updated on

Pitchoo is a twelve year old mixed bread, 10 pound dog.  She’s been my life companion for all of those years.  Where I am is where she wants to be. She follows me around and anticipates the moments when I’m going to sit down.  The second I sit, Pitchoo jumps on my lap and makes herself comfortable.  She exhales once and closes her eyes.  Her demeanor says “feel the love and peace”.  Her peaceful state is contagious and in that moment she lets me know that “I am loved and all is well”.  She reminds me to be present.  She lives in the moment and embraces life to the fullest.

She has a heart condition and her days are numbered.  She coughs, has trouble breathing, sometimes chokes on her food, passes out, can only go for short walks, yet…she appears to love life!  On good like on bad days, she emanates peace and joy.  Her spirit is unaffected by the disease.  When she’s not feeling well, she lays on my chest instead of on my lap.  In that position, I can feel her labored heart beating against mine.  It’s as if her heart wants to let mine know that our time together in this life will come to an end.  My heart responds with waves of love and appreciation for all that she is.  I then think to myself “this may be the day that she leaves me for good and for God”.

The next day comes and Pitchoo wakes up like nothing happened.  She’s energetic, plays with her toys and seeks to jump on my lap.  She asks me once more to be present with her.  To love, laugh and live life to the fullest; in that moment that’s what I do…

Pitchoo this little dog with a big personality has been and continues to be my teacher.  My time spent with her teaches me how to access peace and joy through presence.  She’s also the best example of resiliency one can find.  She’s by my side now and tomorrow…she may not be.  But the lessons learned will remain.  In times of sorrow, my heart will recall the love song made by the soft pounding of hers beating next to mine…in that moment I’ll remember that I am loved.

© Copyright. Resonance for Life Body/Mind Harmonization Center, 2015. All rights reserved. Unpublished. Anne-Marie Campanella MA.

3 thoughts on “Lessons of Love From my Dying Dog

    Sandy said:
    December 4, 2015 at 1:32 am

    She is a sweet love.

    Liked by 1 person

    Judi Watroba said:
    December 4, 2015 at 2:42 pm

    Good Morning Ann-Marie, That is a beautiful story of love.  I am however so sad to hear that Pitchoo’s days are numbered. She is such a cute and lovable dog!!  Sending you love and peace from Rehoboth.  xo Judi From: I’ve been thinking.. . To: sierra4860@yahoo.com Sent: Thursday, December 3, 2015 7:18 PM Subject: [New post] Lessons of love from my dying dog #yiv5692359467 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv5692359467 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv5692359467 a.yiv5692359467primaryactionlink:link, #yiv5692359467 a.yiv5692359467primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv5692359467 a.yiv5692359467primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv5692359467 a.yiv5692359467primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv5692359467 WordPress.com | Anne-Marie posted: “Pitchoo is a twelve year old mixed bread, 10 pound dog.  She’s been my life companion for all of those years.  Where I am is where she wants to be. She follows me around and anticipates the moments when I’m going to sit down.  The second I sit, Pitchoo ju” | |

    Liked by 1 person

    Dennis Pratt said:
    December 6, 2015 at 2:17 pm

    🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment